Ingredients

Apigenin: what it is, where it is found and how to read the label

What apigenin is, how much is in chamomile, parsley and celery, and how to read apigenin mg, extract and purity figures on UK supplement labels.

Updated · 7 min read

IngredientsApigenin: what it is, where it is found and how to read the label
in this article
  1. The short answer
  2. What apigenin is
  3. Where apigenin is found
  4. How UK labels state it
  5. Purity and certificates
  6. Solubility and stability
  7. Who should check with a doctor first
  8. Verve Apigenin 100mg
  9. Apigenin: your questions
  10. How we checked

Updated November 2026. Sources, UK labels and Verve's label checked on 6 November 2026. Verve makes an apigenin capsule, covered near the end.

Apigenin is a flavone, one of the subgroups of flavonoids, with the formula C15H10O5 and a molecular weight of 270.24. Plants mostly store it with a sugar attached, as glycosides. Dried chamomile flowers and parsley are among the richest sources; celery has far less. There is no NHS daily amount, no NRV and no authorised GB health claim for apigenin, so this guide covers the chemistry and the label, not effects. The UK supplements we checked state 27mg to 300mg per capsule, as apigenin mg, as an extract with a percentage, or with a purity figure such as 98%. Check with your doctor first if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication or have a medical condition.

The short answer

  • What it is: 4',5,7-trihydroxyflavone, C15H10O5, molecular weight 270.24. A flavone: the flavonoid subgroup with a double bond between carbons 2 and 3.
  • Where it occurs: chamomile flowers, parsley and celery, mostly as glycosides. European adults get 0.7 to 9.0mg of all flavones a day from food.
  • On the label: apigenin mg; an extract with a percentage (500mg of parsley extract at 20% is 100mg); a purity figure (98%, 99%); or a carrier weight ("liposomal apigenin 100mg", providing 50mg).
  • Doses: 27mg to 300mg per capsule across the seven UK labels we read. Most say one a day.
  • From Verve: Verve Apigenin 100mg, 100mg of apigenin per capsule, one capsule in the evening, every batch independently lab-tested for purity, with the certificate for your batch on request, and made in the UK.
  • Check first: with your doctor if pregnant, breastfeeding, on medication (including sedatives or medicines processed by the liver) or with a medical condition. Not for children.

What apigenin is

Its chemical name is 5,7-dihydroxy-2-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-4H-chromen-4-one. The Human Metabolome Database (HMDB0002124) classes it under flavonoids, subclass flavones. A 2017 review by Hostetler, Ralston and Schwartz sets out what makes a flavone: a double bond between carbons 2 and 3 of the flavonoid skeleton, oxidation at carbon 4 and, usually, nothing attached at carbon 3.

In plants, the review says, flavones are typically bound to a sugar at position 7, sometimes with acetyl or malonyl groups added. In chamomile they are mainly forms of apigenin 7-O-glucoside; in parsley, mainly apiin and malonylapiin. The sugar adds weight, which matters when a figure is for a glycoside.

Form Formula Molecular weight Share that is apigenin (our calculation)
Apigenin (free apigenin, the aglycone) C15H10O5 270.24 100%
Apigenin 7-O-glucoside (cosmosiin, apigetrin) C21H20O10 432.38 62.5%
Apigenin 7-apiosyl-glucoside (apiin) C26H28O14 564.49 47.9%

So 100mg of apigenin 7-O-glucoside holds about 62mg of apigenin.

Where apigenin is found

These figures come from the Hostetler review and the USDA flavonoid database (Release 3.3, 2018). They vary widely, and studies measure either glycosides or free apigenin, so treat them as ranges, not label values.

Food Apigenin per 100g Source
German chamomile flowers, dried 5,010 to 5,320mg, as glycosides Hostetler 2017
Roman chamomile flowers, dried 2,531mg as glycosides, plus 395mg free apigenin Hostetler 2017
Parsley, dried 1,200 to 1,350mg; a second dataset averaged 4,503.5mg over five samples Hostetler 2017; USDA 2018
Parsley, fresh Under 2.4mg to 1,484mg Hostetler 2017
Celery seed 78.65mg (one sample) USDA 2018
Celery hearts, fresh 19.1mg Hostetler 2017
Celery stalks, fresh 1.3 to 10.8mg Hostetler 2017

The chamomile rows are for the dried flower: the review puts about 100mg in 2g of flower, but not how much reaches a cup of tea. The review gives European adult intake of all flavones from food as 0.7 to 9.0mg a day; a 100mg capsule is 11 to 140 times that, by our calculation.

How UK labels state it

Label line Example from a UK product page What to check
Apigenin, mg Verve: 100mg. Peak Supps: 50mg Source plant and purity, often not stated
Extract with a percentage Naturecan UK: 500mg parsley herb extract, "standard 20% apigenin content", 100mg apigenin That the sum works: 500mg x 20% = 100mg
"From chamomile extract" Natroceutics Apimile (sold at Healf): chamomile extract "standardised to deliver 27mg of apigenin", in a 180mg blend Free apigenin or glycosides?
Purity figure The Health Project: "Apigenin (99% Pure) 200mg". Nice Supplement Co: "Apigenin 98% (300mg) from an extract of Citrus aurantium" Is the mg the powder or the apigenin? 300mg of 98% powder is 294mg of apigenin
Carrier form Phytoceutics PhytoPure: "Liposomal Apigenin" 100mg, "Providing Apigenin" 50mg Compare on the "providing" figure

The sums are ours. Labels give chamomile, parsley, bitter orange (Citrus aurantium) or, at Time Health, grapefruit as the source; an apigenin mg figure lets you compare across them. The NRV column shows a dash because apigenin has no NRV: see what NRV means on a label.

Daily amounts on brand pages, no prices: 27mg (Natroceutics), 50mg (Peak Supps, Phytoceutics), 100mg (Naturecan UK, Verve), 200mg (The Health Project), and 300mg or 600mg (Nice Supplement Co, one or two capsules). The rest say one a day.

Purity and certificates

A purity figure on a web page is a claim. The certificate of analysis (CoA), the laboratory report for one batch, is the evidence. Of the seven UK labels we read, only Naturecan UK says it is third-party tested; none showed an apigenin certificate. Verve's page says every batch is independently lab-tested for purity, with the certificate of analysis for your batch on request. Read a CoA for:

  • Batch number: it should match your pot.
  • Identity: confirmation that the powder is apigenin, ideally with the source plant.
  • Assay: the apigenin percentage and test method. For an extract, whether the figure is free apigenin or glycosides.
  • Heavy metals: lead, arsenic, cadmium and mercury, each with a result and a limit.
  • Microbes: total plate count, yeasts and moulds, E. coli and Salmonella.

Solubility and stability

Apigenin barely dissolves in water: 1.35μg per millilitre, in a 2025 study by Rosiak and colleagues (μg means micrograms; see what ug means on a label). By our calculation, 100mg would need about 74 litres of water to dissolve. The study places apigenin in Class II of the Biopharmaceutics Classification System, the low-solubility group, and measured its melting point at 366.3°C.

In food, the Hostetler review calls flavones very stable compared with most other flavonoid glycosides. We found no source on how long apigenin capsules keep, so follow the pack.

Who should check with a doctor first

There is no NHS page on apigenin. This list uses the wording on Verve's product page.

  • Anyone pregnant or breastfeeding.
  • Anyone taking medication or with a medical condition.
  • Anyone taking sedative medication, or medication metabolised by the liver, should speak to a healthcare professional before use.
  • Anyone who reacts to chamomile or plants in the daisy family.
  • Children. The product is not suitable for children.

Verve Apigenin 100mg

Verve's label has one row: apigenin, 100mg per serving, NRV "-", with the note "NRV% not established unless stated". One capsule once a day, best taken in the evening; 30 capsules, so 30 servings. The page lists a plant cellulose shell and no other ingredient, and says it is gluten, dairy and soy free and vegan. Every batch is independently lab-tested for purity; the certificate of analysis for your batch is available on request from hello@vavaverve.com. The page does not state the source plant, a purity percentage or a storage line.

Not suitable for children. Keep out of reach of children. Do not exceed the recommended daily intake. Consult your doctor before use if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication or have a medical condition. Those taking sedative medication, or medication metabolised by the liver, should speak to a healthcare professional before use. Do not drive or operate machinery until you know how this product affects you. Avoid if you react to chamomile or plants in the daisy family. The label is on the Apigenin 100mg page. UK products side by side: our apigenin supplement comparison. Full range: the longevity collection.

featured in this article

100mg apigenin per capsule

From €19,96/month

Food supplements should not be used as a substitute for a varied, balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle.

Apigenin: your questions

Is apigenin the same as chamomile extract?

No. Chamomile extract is an extract of the whole flower; apigenin is one compound in it, mostly present as glycosides. A label should state the apigenin figure separately, as Natroceutics does with 27mg from its chamomile extract.

How much apigenin is in parsley?

Dried parsley: 1,200 to 1,350mg per 100g in the Hostetler review, and an average of 4,503.5mg in the USDA database. Fresh parsley: under 2.4mg to 1,484mg per 100g. By our calculation, 100mg of apigenin is about 2g to 8g of dried parsley.

What does 98% apigenin mean on a label?

That the maker's test found 98% of the powder is apigenin. If the mg beside it is the powder weight, 300mg of 98% powder is 294mg of apigenin, by our calculation. The batch certificate of analysis shows the assay.

What does apigenin do?

There is no authorised health claim for apigenin in Great Britain, so this guide describes the compound and the label, not effects. Compare products on apigenin mg a day, how the figure is stated, the source plant and the batch certificate.

How we checked

Molecules: Human Metabolome Database entries HMDB0002124 (apigenin), HMDB0037340 (cosmosiin) and HMDB0302255 (apigenin 7-apiosyl-glucoside). Structure, plant forms, foods, stability and intake: Hostetler, Ralston and Schwartz, Advances in Nutrition, 2017, 8(3), 423-435. Further food figures: USDA Database for the Flavonoid Content of Selected Foods, Release 3.3 (2018). Solubility and melting point: Rosiak and colleagues, International Journal of Molecular Sciences, 2025, 26(2), 566. UK labels: Peak Supps, Naturecan UK, The Health Project (at Discount Supplements), Nice Supplement Co, Phytoceutics (at John Bell and Croyden), Natroceutics (at Healf) and Time Health. Verve figures: the Apigenin 100mg page on vavaverve.com. We searched nhs.uk and found no page on apigenin. All checked on 6 November 2026. Verve makes the apigenin capsules in this guide.

Join our growing community.

stay up to date with the behind the scenes of verve and be the first to hear about new releases. Unsubscribe any time.

No spam. Unsubscribe at any time.